top of page

Part Three: Reflecting, Questioning, Documenting

I really enjoyed this section. Pretty much it delt with being better observers and making sure we document student progress. I find in my younger grades watching for improvement and progression is essential to evaluate each student at the end of the quarter. I have been documenting student behavior using Class Dojo for two years now and I love the data. I decided this year to utilize it not only for behavior but evaluating my students work, mostly when it comes to typing. I needed a way to keep track of the students posture and hand positioning while they typed. I started awarding Dojo points to kids who I saw using the Home Row Keys and sitting up straight and documenting for my own purposes when a student was not using proper posture or the Home Row Keys. That data proves incredibly valuable when I am evaluating the lessons and the students progression. It has worked so well I have expanded using it with my kindergarteners using the mouse and even my Junior High students for participation in class discussion. It's a great tool I wish more teachers would use. Especially since it's free!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page