top of page

Part Two: Prospect's Descriptive Review of Practice

I was scratching my head when I read the title of Part Two. What exactly did they mean by Prospect's Descriptive Review of Practice. To be completely completely honest I was still scratching my head after reading the introduction.

What I gathered from reading the stories is that the process of the Review of Practice helps teachers learn how to teach with meaning. One particular section I enjoyed included the practice of one teacher to express herself in her teachings by encouraging her students to read and retell folk talkes. She stated the folk tale project was important to her because it embodied the values she tries to enact:

  • Depth and Thoroughness

  • Taking Time

  • Taking something and making it your own

  • Collaboration

  • Sharing

With out telling her students I want you to be original or to work well in a group or to share respectfully, she obtains that expectation through practice. In other words what this section really was about was being prepared as a teacher. Knowing your subject matter and how you want to convey your content.

I really liked this Edutopia Article about Fostering Student Questions, something I am trying to integrate and prepare more for in my own lesson plans.

I also really liked this video from Edutopia that talked about collaborating with other teachers to utilize each others strengths to improve the student's experience.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page